Tuesday, June 14, 2016

2016 Critics Circle Awards

"Anastasia" Takes Home Seven Awards

Christy Altomare. Photo by Joan Marcus

Hartford Stage's Broadway-bound "Anastasia" and Yale Repertory Theatre's "Indecent," which is currently playing in New York, received top honors as outstanding musical and play, respectively, at the 26th annual Connecticut Critics Circle Awards show held June 13 at Hartford Stage, which co-hosted the event with TheaterWorks.
Tina Fabrique. This and all following photos by Mara Lavitt
Tina Fabrique, who starred in the musical "Ella" in productions in theaters across the country, was master of ceremonies and performed at the show, which honors outstanding achievements in the state's 2015-16 professional theater season. Also performing was David Pittsinger, nominated in the Outstanding Actor in a Musical category for "South Pacific" at Ivoryton Playhouse.
The evening began with a reception for over 150 guests, a mingling of theater critics, creative and artistic directors, actors and actresses and theater enthusiasts. Over 300 guests then gathered to view the proceedings.
Christy Altomare
"Anastasia" also took home honors for director Darko Tresnjak, leading actress Christy Altomare, choreographer Peggy Hickey, costumer Linda Cho, lighting designer Donald Holder and projection designer Aaron Rhyne.
Paula Vogel and Yale Rep's James Bundy
"Indecent" by Paula Vogel, now playing at Vineyard Theatre after a run at the La Jolla Playhouse, also took home honors for director Rebecca Taichman and an award for outstanding ensemble.
Lisa Gutkin
A special award was presented to Lisa Gutkin and Aaron Halva, co-composers who created the Klezmer music for the production.
Bobby Steggert
Mara Davi
The world premiere of the musical "My Paris" also received awards for outstanding lead actor Bobby Steggert, featured actress Mara Davi and Paul Tazewell, who tied with Cho for costume design.
Rajesh Bose

Erika Rolfsrud
Teren Carter
In other acting categories, awards went to Rajesh Bose for lead actor in a play for "Disgraced" at Long Wharf Theatre; Erika Rolfsrud for "Good People" at Hartford's TheaterWorks for lead actress in a play; Charles Janasz for featured actor in a play for "Romeo and Juliet" at Hartford Stage; Birgit Huppuch for featured actress in a play for "The Moors" at Yale Repertory Theatre and Teren Carter for featured actor in a musical for"Memphis" at Ivoryton Playhouse.
Mohit Gautman
Mohit Gautman was the recipient of the Outstanding Debut award for his work in Long Wharf’s “Disgraced.”
Other awards went to set designer Alexander Dodge for "Rear Window" at Hartford Stage; and sound designer Darron L. West for "Body of an American" at Hartford Stage.
Anne Keefe
Anne Keefe, stage manager of New Haven's Long Wharf Theatre and Broadway for more than 25 years and part of the leadership team that saved and transformed Westport Country Playhouse, received the Connecticut Critics Circle's Tom Killen Award for lifetimes achievement in the theater. Longtime colleague Alison Harris presented the award and read congratulations from former Long Wharf Theatre artistic director Arvin Brown and actor John Lithgow.
Cathy Malloy and Gov. Dannel F. Malloy
Among the award presenters at the event which attracted more than 320 theater fans, were Gov. Dannel F. Malloy and Cathy Malloy, CEO of the Greater Hartford Arts Council, O'Neill Theater Center founder George White, animal trainer Bill Berloni and Tony Award-nominee Tony Sheldon.
Bill Berloni and friends
The Connecticut Critics Circle is comprised of theater critics and writers in the state's print, radio and on-line media.

No comments:

Post a Comment